Annual ‘Winners Drink Milk’ Award Toasts 500-Mile Race Champion

24 May 2013

For release: Saturday, 25 May 2013, 11a

Download PDF

INDIANAPOLIS – One of the most popular and recognized traditions at the Indianapolis 500-
Mile Race is showcased annually through presentation of the Winners Drink Milk Award by the
American Dairy Association of Indiana.

The award was created by the Hoosier dairy organization to honor both the reigning champion of
the 500-Mile Race as well as the legacy of the late, great Louis Meyer, the first three-time
winner (1928, ’33, ’36). The legendary Meyer is acknowledged as the driver who started the
Victory Circle Bottle of Milk Tradition when he asked for a glass of buttermilk to quench his
thirst after a grueling 500 miles in 1933. Three years later, Meyer was photographed drinking
milk in Victory Lane. Milk was presented off and on during the next several years until, in 1956,
the Bottle of Milk was made a permanent part of the post-race celebration by Indianapolis Motor
Speedway owner Anton “Tony” Hulman.

2013 marks the 58th consecutive year for the Bottle of Milk Tradition, and 77 years since that
photo of Meyer and his beloved buttermilk was snapped in Victory Lane.

The Winners Drink Milk commemorative plaque features an illustration of Indy’s first three-time
winner, along with an inscription crediting Meyer as the tradition’s originator. The plaque was
presented to 2012 Indy 500 champ Dario Franchitti during the Public Drivers’ Meeting at the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway this morning (Sat, May 25). Making the presentation to the three-time
winner was Deb Osza, general manager of the American Dairy Association of Indiana.

“We want people always to remember the significant role Louis Meyer played in establishing
one of the most beloved traditions at Indianapolis,” said Osza. “The Winners Drink Milk Award,
we believe, is a fitting tribute to Louie’s legacy.”